Skip to main content

College Celebrates the Best in Sport for 2023

Our College community gathered together last night in the O'Shea Performing Arts Centre to celebrate student sporting achievement. 

NewstalkZB's Jason Pine hosted the evening, where we also celebrated the contributions of our hardworking volunteer community. Volunteer of the Year, Damien Ekenasio (Basketball), Administrator of the Year Trina Coombs (Rugby), and the Raymond Neal Medal winner Shane London received some of the biggest applause of the evening.

Our Badminton superstar Samuel Navarra won the Fr Joe Cullen Memorial Cup for Victor Ludorum Sportsman of the Year, with the Christie Cup for Junior Sportsman of the Year won by Nelsson Tiumalu (Athletics, Rugby).

Sam is ranked No 2 U19 player in New Zealand and was selected for the NZ team that competed at the World Junior Championships in Washington, USA last month.

Rector Mike Savali congratulated all the winners and also acknowledged all our staff, coaches and managers for their dedication and support. He also thanked all parents, whānau, and friends on the sideline and courtside for their support and encouragement alongside our coaching management. Director of Sport Jonathan Millmow and Sports Administrator Kristina Rybinski were also mentioned by the Rector for their dedication and all they do for sport at our Kura. 

Major Winners 

Team of the Year: Senior Premier Futsal

Volunteer of the Year: Damien Ekenasio (Basketball)

Administrator of the Year: Trina Coombs (Rugby)

Student Official of the Year: Aidan Chesney (Junior Waterpolo Coach)

All-rounder of the Year: Oliver Florance (Athletics, Basketball, Rowing)

Coach of the Year: Khalid Razouk (Futsal)

Junior Sportsman of the Year: Nelsson Tiumalu (Athletics, Rugby)

Sportsman of the Year: Samuel Navarra (Badminton)

List of all winners

Photos from the night